Bookmark Print E-mail

Past Events

Programs >> Women's Leadership Initiatives >> Lindy Boggs Award
Lindy Boggs Award

 In 1995, the Stennis Center established the Lindy Boggs Award at its Southern Women in Public Service conference. This award recognizes a woman from the South who has demonstrated the ideals of patriotism, courage, integrity and leadership through public service that have characterized the life and career of Lindy Boggs. Boggs is shown at the right presenting the 2002 award to Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison, left. The award itself is a crystal replica of the U.S. Capitol. Read more about each winner below.

Former U.S. President Bill Clinton Paid Tribute To Jimmie Lou Fisher, Winner Of The Lindy Boggs Award

Former U.S. President Bill Clinton joined Arkansas Governor Mike Beebe and Attorney General Dustin McDaniel at the Lindy Boggs Award ceremony honoring Jimmie Lou Fisher on February 17, 2009, at the Clinton Presidential Center in Little Rock.

For further coverage of the event read the Arkansas News Bureau's report of the event or watch Arkansas Democrat Gazette's video of Fisher accepting her award at the luncheon.

Jimmie Lou Fisher, 2008
Carrie Meek, 2007
Dolly Parton, 2006
Lady Bird Johnson, 2005
Condoleezza Rice, 2004
Janet Reno, 2003
Kay Bailey Hutchison, 2002
Rosalynn Carter, 2001
Martha Layne Collins, 2000
Myrlie Evers Williams, 1999
Evelyn Gandy, 1998
Elizabeth Dole, 1997
Ann Richards, 1996
Corinne "Lindy" Claiborne Boggs