Bookmark Print E-mail

Past Events

See the winners for the last 7 years of the Harold Keller Award for Public Service Leadership Award.

The award was established to honor the long-time leader of the Stennis Student Congress, Harold C. Keller, a speech and debate coach from Davenport, Iowa. In the year 2003, Keller stepped down from his post of National Clerk of the Congress. For over 25 years, the man affectionately known as "Mr. Congress," was a driving force in planning and implementing the yearly event. Keller always believed the greatest value of Student Congress is the preparation and inspiration it provides to future leaders in public service. In his years of service, Keller oversaw everything from printing legislation and organizing the chambers to supervising the judging and checking the results. Billy Tate, the National Forensic League president, said, "No person has done more to promote and improve NFL Stennis Student Congress as an event that Harold Keller." The award that pays tribute to Keller's long-time support recognizes an individual who has successfully applied lessons learned through Student Congress to become an effective leader in public service. Read the remarks from the United States Senate floor on the establishment of the Harold Keller Award for Public Service Leadership.

Winners of the Harold Keller Award for Public Service Leadership
2007 Ali Azizi

Additional Information

Harold Keller Public Service Leadership Award
Steve Grubbs 2014 Winner
Randy Head 2013 Winner
Captain Josh Swartsel 2012 Winner
Ryan Mulholland 2011 Winner
Mark Parkinson 2010 Winner
Joshua Segall 2009 Winner
Tamara Serwer Caldas 2008 Winner
Ali Azizi 2007 Winner
   All Pages